Field Notes, by Ben Nardolilli

“Wednesday Song”

 

 

The heat is mostly gone, and the sky

Hangs light above me, again

 

And I breathe a little easier, my teeth

And lips do not struggle, my lungs

 

Fill with dry air, I am not drowning,

Though my mind has gone

 

For a swim down the avenue,

Through the faces and dresses

 

That hang like petals I wish the wind

Would blow away, so that I might see

 

Such wonderful, barren branches,

Sturdy arches of milk, clay, or ebony.

 

I’ve returned to the imagined crystal alley

Since you left for the coast with a mumbled hug,

 

From my borrowed bed, to wear

All the leaves I thought I shook off of you.

 

 

for another of Ben’s Field Notes…

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Revised with a New Introduction”

 

 

I hate how they separate prefaces

From the rest of the book,

If they aren’t meant to be there,

Why are they included,

Why is the paper spent to treat them

Worse than an appendix?

 

They are numbered in the Roman fashion,

Elegant yet archaic,

As if the start of the actual book

Marks a new era,

Where pages are done up in the style

Inherited from the east,

The preface is infused

With gratitude and confusion,

A Pagan beginning

That gives rise to a separate Christendom,

Monotheistic with meaning.

 

 

visit Ben’s blog: here

Leave a comment